Build your own lantern to display at Bury’s Diwali parade.

This year we are, once again, delighted to be celebrating the Hindu festival of light, Diwali with a parade in Bury town centre.

This year, the celebratory parade will be taking place on Sunday 30 October at 6.30pm, starting at Market Place in front of the Robert Peel statue and parading through The Rock. All are welcome to take part in the celebrations and we are hosting some free workshops to help families build their own lantern to display on the parade.

There are two workshops happening during on Saturday 29 October to come and build your lantern for the parade, 10am-12noon and 1pm-3pm. Workshops are free to attend but please book a place.

Workshops are open to any age, under 16s must be accompanied by an adult and we encourage families to come and participate together.

Dates & Times

Last session: Sat 29 Oct 2022 at 1:00 PM - This event has now passed
FREE event, advance booking required.

Workshops are free but do require booking to secure a place.

These workshops are open to all ages but children under 16 must be accompanied by an adult.

Duration approx. 2 hours.

Related events

Workshops & Courses -
  • Tue 9 Apr 7:00 PM
  • Tue 16 Apr 7:00 PM
  • Tue 30 Apr 7:00 PM
  • Tue 14 May 7:00 PM
  • Tue 28 May 7:00 PM
  • Tue 11 Jun 7:00 PM
  • Tue 25 Jun 7:00 PM
  • Tue 9 Jul 7:00 PM

Northern Female Voices

A brand new programme to support and amplify Northern female-identifying voices to write.

Read more
Family -

Easter Holiday Drama

Children aged 6-10 are invited to join us for two fun-filled days of drama and all things fun!

Book
Festivals - Last session: Sat 2 Mar 2024 at 1:30 PM - This event has now passed

Open Day tours of The Met

A FREE tour of The Met. Visit backstage areas normally closed to the public, and learn about the history of this fascinating building.

Read more